I’ll Miss You, Billy Mays.

Posted: June 28, 2009 in health, opinion, personal, sales
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I must admit that I was utterly shocked to hear the news of Billy’s untimely death.  It seems that this last week has been a very bad one for celebrities.  Now I know that most people will say that he was an annoying guy in a blue shirt, but to me he was proof that hard work and talent can get you anywhere.

I hate infomercials.  I hate them with a passion.  But I love a Billy May’s commercial.  I think that magic behind them was his over the top personality, and the fact that what he was pushing is actually worth a damn.  I can’t think of anyone I know that doesn’t have now, or at some point in the past, a bottle of OxiClean in their possession.  I believed in Billy and that was the power of his commercials.  You can’t ignore a man with that much passion for their product.

I had recently become a huge fan of his TV show on Discovery, Pitchmen.  It showed that there was more to the yelling guy on TV, and the more I watched the bigger the fan I became.  I love sales.  I love the fact that nothing happens in life without it, and I love watching people that are good at it in action.  Billy took what some consider an old and outdated way of selling, and turned it into a billion dollar business.  Along the way he also taught everyone a lesson on the power of buiding a personal brand.  Who would have thought that a yell, a beard, and a blue shirt could be worth so much money?

My heart goes out to his family, and especially to his little girl.  A man with a personality that large will leave a gap in their lives.  I, for one, will miss you and your commercials, Billy.  I promise if I get the chance I will punch the ShamWow guy in the nuts for you.  I hope you get a blue shirt in Heaven.

mays_wp

Comments
  1. lizzyd says:

    I know I love my OxiClean.

    He was way too young.

    P.S. Do you hate the Magic Bullet commercials too? We’re big fans of those around here.

  2. Pedro Amaral says:

    I live in Portugal and I know this guy (don’t know why) even though he doesn’t appear on TV here…
    The truth is that everyone says these type of guys are annoying and stupid but down deep everyone starts to like them after years of seeing them everyday on TV talking to us about cleaning products!
    It’s like someone you see everyday on the subway or the bus. You start to develop some kind of interest for that person!

    Pedro Amaral

Leave a Reply

